Oh Yeah News

NI Music Prize: Shortlist & Live Acts

NI Music Prize: Shortlist & Live Acts image

Twelve albums have been shortlisted for the Northern Ireland Music Prize 2015. The winner will be announced at this special awards night at the Mandela Hall, November 14.

More than 70 people were contacted from the NI music industry and music media. This resulted in the following shortlist:


A Plastic Rose
‘Flickering Light of an Inner War’

And So I Watch You From Afar

Axis Of
‘The Mid Brae Inn’

‘Belfast Yank’

Ciaran Lavery and  Ryan Vail
‘Sea Legs’

Duke Special
‘Look Out Machines’

The Lost Brothers
‘New Songs Of Dawn And Dust’


Not Squares

‘Before We Forgot How To Dream’


Tim Wheeler
‘Lost Domain’


The NI Music Prize event is produced by the Oh Yeah Music Centre and supported by
The Arts Council of Northern Ireland.

The NI Music Prize event will feature live music on the night from Malojian, Ciaran Lavery and Ryan Vail.

The evening will end with a special presentation - an Oh Yeah Legend Award - to The Divine Comedy. Neil Hannon will play a selection from his magnificent catalogue of songs.

Stuart Bailie, CEO of the Oh Yeah Music Centre says:
“Yet again, there’s such an impressive spread of music to chose from. The NI Music Prize demonstrates that the album is still a valid artform and that there’s no shortage of local artists who want to take on that challenge.

Previous winners of the NI Music Prize are:
2014: Robyn G Shiels – The Blood Of The Innocents
2013: Foy Vance – Joy Of Nothing

The Northern Ireland Music Prize 2015, November 14, Mandela Hall, Belfast
with live music from The Divine Comedy, Malojian, Ciaran Lavery and Ryan Vail. 
8pm, £12. 

Online ticket sales.
This event will be the finale of the Sound of Belfast, programme, November 6-14. More details to be announced shortly.

« Read more News items

Oh yeah on Facebook

Get OHYEAH Updates

Limited Edition Maritime T-shirt
Gary Lightbody
Tourism Award Success